Legislative Action Center


Become an Activist

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."   Edmund Burke

CLICK HERE TO SKIP TO REPRESENTATIVE CONTACT INFORMATION

The following is a list of activists resources from 'Act for America', that will help you stay abreast of current issues, pending legislation, your representatives, and even candidates running for office in your district.  Start by reading the list, 'Legislative Alerts and Current Issues'.  Then select those issues of interest to you.  Click on any one for a more detailed explanation of the issue.  If you want more information click on, 'CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE AND TAKE ACTION ON THIS BILL'.   If you want to take contact your Representative on this issue, just enter your ZIP code and click  GO.  You will be presented with a pre-written letter already addressed to your Representative(s).  It's already written for you!  All you have to do is fill in the sender information (you) and click 'SEND MESSAGE'.

This is an amazing resource.  It could not be easier.  With just a few minutes of your time per day, you can let your representatives know your feelings on a host of important current issues.

  Act for America Home  
  Legislative Alerts and Current Issues  
  Find Your Elected Officials  
  Find Your Current Candidates  
  List of Current Legislation  
  Current Key Votes  
  List of Media in Your Area  
  Capitol Hill Basics  
  Register to Vote  
  Track Your Representative's Vote by Email   
  Get Email Alerts on Critical Issues  
  See How Representatives Voted  

 
Now you have all the tools you need to be fully engaged in the political process with only a minimal effort an amount of your time.  Act for America has put a huge amount of effort in this to make it easy, easy, easy for you.  Put this on your list of regular things to do to defend your Constitution and help take America back!


Another Great Resource from "VoteSmart", Making It Easier for You to Vote Smart

The key to electing good representatives is for voters to vote smart. For incumbents you can look at their record to see how they have represented your view. But how do you do that?  Fortunately we have an incredible non-partisan free web site called Project Vote Smart, that collects all kinds of factual statistical data on every representative and makes it available to you the voter. The amount of effort that must go into this is amazing and itís all free. With this information you can find out exactly where your representatives stand on every issue.

 Here is how it works: Go to Project Vote Smart Here http://votesmart.org/index.htm 

  • The top menu bar lets you find current elected Officials, and all Candidates (candidates will appear after filing deadlines)
  • Down the left column you will find a list of Categories
  • To see your Representatives voting record, select item two, Voting Records
  • Select your state and click the GO button
  • Choose President, Congress, Governor, or State offices. For this example choose Congress
  • Choose District 13, Vern Buchanan
  • You will find a list of all major Bills, how he voted and the outcome of the vote. You can use the "Pull Down" selector filter by issue.
  • In the upper right you can also get Biographical information, Issue Positions, Interest Group Ratings, Position Papers, Speeches and Public Statements and Campaigns 

This is just a brief summary of how to access voting records but there is much more on this site. You can even get hard to find information on Judges at three levels, Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals and District Courts, using this link.  Please take some time to explore all the capability of this site, and share the information with your family, friends and neighbors. Based on a low 13% approval level for Congress, it is apparent that we the voters are not doing our homework well. Let's put out more effort in 2012 and Vote Smart. And don't forget to save this page as a favorite so you can return from time to time. 


VOTING SCORECARD - Find Your Representative

 
 
 

Email Gov. Rick Scott here:
http://www.flgov.com/contact-gov-scott/email-the-governor/

Contact Congress

Contact Senator Rubio here:
Contact Senator Nelson here:
Contact Rep. Buchanan here:

Contact Speaker Boehner here:
Contact Senator Mitch McConel:

CLICK HERE TO SEE CONGRESSIONAL VOTING RECORD SUMMARY

CLICK HERE FOR COMPLETE VOTING RECORD

Contact Your State Representatives

 Contact Rep. Jim Boyd
Contact Rep. Greg Steube
Contact Rep. Ray Pilon
Contact Sen. Mike Bennett: bennett.mike.web@flsenate.gov
 

CLICK HERE TO FIND YOUR US SENATORS
CLICK HERE TO FIND YOUR US REPRESENTATIVE

CLICK HERE TO FIND YOUR STATE REPRESENTATIVES

Direct email addresses for most Florida State Representatives

Janet Adkins
Larry Ahern
Ben Albritton
Frank Artiles
Gary Aubuchon
Dennis Baxley
Michael Bileca
Esteban Bovo
Jim Boyd
Jeff Brandes
Jason Brodeur
Doug Broxson
Rachel Burgin
Matt.Caldwell
Dean.Cannon
Marti Coley
Richard Corcoran
Fred Costello
Steve Crisafulli
Janet Cruz
Daniel Davis
Jose Diaz
Chris Dorworth
Brad Drake
Eric.Eisnaugle
Clay Ford
Erik Fresen
James Frishe
Matt Gaetz
Rich Glorioso
Eddy Gonzalez
Tom Goodson
James Grant
Denise Grimsley
Bill Hager
Gayle Harrell
Shawn Harrison
Doug Holder
Ed Hooper
Mike Horner
Matt Hudson
Dorothy.Hukill
Clay Ingram
Paige Kreegel
John Legg
Ana Logan
Carlos Lopez-Cantera
Debbie Mayfield
Charles McBurney
Seth McKeel
Larry Metz
George Moraitis
Peter Nehr
Bryan Nelson
Jeanette Nunez
Marlene O'Toole
Kathleen Passidomo
Jimmy Patronis
Keith Perry
Ray Pilon
Scott Plakon
Elizabeth Porter
Ralph Poppell
Steve Precourt
Bill Proctor
Lake Ray
Ronald Renuart
Ken Roberson
Pat Rooney
Robert Schenck
Jimmie Smith
William Snyder
Kelli Stargel
Greg Steube
John Tobia
Carlos Trujillo
Charles VanZant
Will Weatherford
Mike Weinstein
Trudi Williams
John Wood
Ritch Workman
Dana Young
JD Alexander
Thad Altman
Lizbeth Benacquisto
Mike Bennett
Ellyn Bogdanoff
Charles Dean
Nancy Detert
Alex Portilla
Paula Dockery
Greg Evers
Mike Fasano
Anitere Flores
Don Gaetz
Rene Garcia
Andy Gardiner
Mike Haridopolos
Alan Hays
Dennis Jones
Jack Latvala
Evelyn Lynn
Joe Negron
Jim Norman
Steve Oelrich

Garrett Richter
David Simmons
Ronda Storms
John Thrasher
Stephen Wise

Janet.Adkins@myfloridahouse.gov
Larry.Ahern@myfloridahouse.gov
Ben.Albritton@myfloridahouse.gov
Frank.Artiles@myfloridahouse.gov
Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov 
Dennis.Baxley@myfloridahouse.gov
Michael.Bileca@myfloridahouse.gov
Esteban.Bovo@myfloridahouse.gov
Jim.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
Jeff.Brandes@myfloridahouse.gov
Jason.Brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov
Doug.Broxson@myfloridahouse.gov
Rachel.Burgin@myfloridahouse.gov
Matt.Caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov
Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov
Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov
Richard.Corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov
Fred.Costello@myfloridahouse.gov
Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov
Janet.Cruz@myfloridahouse.gov
Daniel.Davis@myfloridahouse.gov
Jose.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov
Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov
Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov
Eric.Eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov
Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov
Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov
James.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov
Matt.Gaetz@myfloridahouse.gov
Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov
Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov
Tom.Goodson@myfloridahouse.gov
James.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov
Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov
Bill.Hager@myfloridahouse.gov
Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov
Shawn.Harrison@myfloridahouse.gov
Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov
Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov
Mike.Horner@myfloridahouse.gov
Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov
Clay.Ingram@myfloridahouse.gov
Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov
John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov
Ana.Logan@myfloridahouse.gov
Carlos.Lopez-Cantera@myfloridahouse.gov
Debbie.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov
Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov
Seth.McKeel@myfloridahouse.gov
Larry.Metz@myfloridahouse.gov
George.Moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov
Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov
Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov|
Jeanette.Nunez@myfloridahouse.gov|
Marlene.OToole@myfloridahouse.gov
Kathleen.Passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov

Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov
Keith.Perry@myfloridahouse.gov
Ray.Pilon@myfloridahouse.gov
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov
Elizabeth.Porter@myfloridahouse.gov
Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov
Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov
Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov
Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov
Ronald.Renuart@myfloridahouse.gov
Ken.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov
Pat.Rooney@myfloridahouse.gov
Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov
Jimmie.Smith@myfloridahouse.gov
William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov
Kelli.Stargel@myfloridahouse.gov
Greg.Steube@myfloridahouse.gov
John.Tobia@myfloridahouse.gov
Carlos.Trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov
Charles.VanZant@myfloridahouse.gov
Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov
Mike.Weinstein@myfloridahouse.gov
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov
John.Wood@myfloridahouse.gov
Ritch.Workman@myfloridahouse.gov
Dana.Young@myfloridahouse.gov
alexander.jd.web@flsenate.gov
altman.thad.web@flsenate.gov

Benacquisto.lizbeth.web@flsenate.gov
bennett.mike.web@flsenate.gov
Bogdanoff.Ellyn.web@flsenate.gov
dean.charles.web@flsenate.gov
detert.nancy.web@flsenate.gov
portilla.alex.web@flsenate.gov
dockery.paula.web@flsenate.gov
Evers.Greg.web@flsenate.gov
fasano.mike.web@flsenate.gov
Flores.Anitere.web@flsenate.gov
gaetz.don.web@flsenate.gov
Garcia.Rene.web@flsenate.gov
gardiner.andy.web@flsenate.gov
haridopolos.mike.web@flsenate.gov
Hays.Alan.web@flsenate.gov
jones.dennis.web@flsenate.gov
Latvala.Jack.web@flsenate.gov
lynn.evelyn.web@flsenate.gov
Negron.joe.web@flsenate.gov
Norman.Jim.web@flsenate.gov
oelrich.steve.web@flsenate.gov
richter.garrett.web@flsenate.gov
Simmons.David.web@flsenate.gov
storms.ronda.web@flsenate.gov
Thrasher.John.web@flsenate.gov
wise.stephen.web@flsenate.gov

 

US Senators up for Reelection in 2012

Senator         Party      State            Contact
Dianne Feinstein - Democrat - California - (202) 224-3841
Tom Carper - Democrat - Delaware - (202) 224-2441
Bill Nelson - Democrat - Florida - (202) 224-5274
Daniel Akaka - Democrat - Hawaii - (202) 224-6361
Ben Cardin - Democrat - Maryland - (202) 224-4524
Debbie Stabenow - Democrat - Michigan - (202) 224-4822
Claire McCaskil -l Democrat - Missouri - (202) 224-6154
Jon Tester - Democrat - Montana - (202) 224-2644
Ben Nelson - Democrat - Nebraska - (202) 224-6551
Bob Menendez - Democrat - New Jersey - (202) 224-4744
Jeff Bingaman - Democrat - New Mexico - (202) 224-5521
Kirsten Gillibrand - Democrat - New York - (202) 224-4451
Sherrod Brown - Democrat - Ohio - (202) 224-2315
Bob Casey, Jr. - Democrat - Pennsylvania - (202) 224-6324
Sheldon Whitehouse - Democrat - Rhode Island - (202) 224-2921
Jim Webb - Democrat - Virginia - (202) 224-4024
Maria Cantwell - Democrat - Washington - (202) 224-3441
Joe Manchin - Democrat - West Virginia - (202) 224-3954
Herb Kohl - Democrat - Wisconsin - (202) 224-5653
Bernie Sanders - Independent - Vermont - (202) 224-5141

Manatee County School Board

Superintendent
Tim McGonegal

Board Members
Karen Carpenter, District 5
Harry Kinnan, District 2
Robert Gause, District 4
Barbara Harvey, District 1
Julie Aranibar, District 3